Join Our June Intensive:
A Month of Deep Practice Together

Since ancient times people have gathered for summer practice periods and turned toward the deepest matters. Everything we have been burdened by, we can put down. Times have always been uncertain, and koan retreats give us a way to respond creatively and to see the light in all things. This June we enter the world of The Blue Cliff Record, one of the greatest spiritual texts, and the practice period culminates in a sesshin. Since we’re online, your home will turn into a temple and your work by itself becomes meditation. When you accord with the Tao, everything in your life is on your side. We will have the guidance of Pacific Zen koan masters—old dragons and tigers steeped in the ancient tradition of awakening. There will be interviews with teachers and encouraging group practice.

No previous experience with koans or meditation is needed. Doorways open if you do koan meditation even once. Join us.

—John Tarrant

Welcome to the June PZI Digital Temple:

Our June Intensive offers a full suite of practice opportunities, leaders, and teachers—filled with daily meditation, dharma talks each week, and short and long retreats. Select the events and meditation times that work for you, and attend what you can! Leaders will be there with temple lamps lit ready to welcome you for all meditation sessions. If you’re seeking a full immersion this June, sign up for Summer Sesshin (which includes the month-long Open Temple Meditation Pass FREE) and also sign up for the Dragons of the Blue Cliff One-Day Retreat on June 6th. All are welcome.

—Questions? Contact Corey Hitchcock

June Open Temple Meditation Pass: Register
$125 or FREE with Summer Sesshin registration

Retreat reveals just what a gift it is to gather together each morning in silence and hear the bell. With this in mind, a collection of our senior leaders will offer morning koan meditation in the PZI Digital Temple every day in June; an intensive effort that will culminate in our Summer Sesshin and will even carry us a few mornings afterward.

Not too late to join in! Meditation Pass includes: 

  • Two daily morning meditation periods
    June 1-30: 6-7am PDT (or 9am EDT) & 7-8am EDT (or 4am-5am PDT)

  • Two Saturday meditation intensives with plenty of silent sitting, koan meditation and small group conversation
    June 12 & 19: 7-10am PDT (or 10am -1pm EDT) & 12-3pm PDT (or 3pm – 6pm EDT)

*******

Dragons of the Blue Cliff: this event has passed
1-Day Retreat, Sunday June 6
10am-4pm PDT
$45/$75

This one-day retreat led by John Tarrant & Friends kicks off our month-long June intensive on The Blue Cliff Record. Offered in the spirit of an Open House, we’ve reduced our usual retreat price to welcome both new and experienced practitioners to the koan tradition and our PZI Way.

Become a PZI Member to access recorded dharma talk audio, video and more in our KALPA library.

*******


Summer Sesshin, June 22-27:
Register
Summer in the Palace at the Blue Cliff
$525/$595 — includes Open Temple Meditation Pass

Our month-long June meditation intensive includes the six-day PZI Summer Sesshin. Diving deep into the heart of The Blue Cliff Record, each day offers two dharma talks, individual interviews with teachers, and an 18-hour zendo that holds bodhisattvas from coast to coast and around the world.

Sesshin registration includes the June Open Temple Meditation Pass.
Registration closes June 18.

Painting by Allison Atwill
Hands and Eyes ©2008 Medium: Acrylic on birch panel with gold leaf  Dimensions:  18″ x 24″
KOAN: How does the Bodhisattva of Great Mercy use all those hands and eyes? It’s like reaching behind you for a pillow in the night.

Support Us

Through your generosity, you help people find their own path into awakening, keep our doors open to everyone regardless of means, support our teachers, and help our systems run smoothly.

Give Dana

The PZI Scholarship Fund

Your contributions to this fund go directly to help us offer generous scholarships for attendance at PZI Zen Online 1-day & 2-day retreats, and at our three annual 4-day sesshins in the PZI Digital Temple. There is no replacement for this generosity.

Join our Mailing List

 

Stay in touch with news from: